Promise fulfilled

Document signing

Last week, I mentioned sharing a snippet of my WIP… Here it goes… It’s not exactly the beginning of a scene nor its end… Just a snippet.

“Often, we conclude we get no premonition before we experience our best and worst moments. A lot of times, we do,” a psychologist had remarked at a speech I sat in during my sophomore year at Maidene State University. The day I’d conclude that wishes weren’t horses is among the few that leaves no warning sign.

It starts like every other Tuesday, save that I wear my blue button-down to James Brown Elementary and not Professor Lee’s nuclear chemistry class. I sit on the second row of the soccer field, flanked on both sides by Diane and Beth, who voices her displeasure at skipping a violin class for some running-around activity. She goes mute when I remind her of the sacrifice I’m making also.

The occasion is Toby’s debut. Kick off was 10 am, and the reading on my watch shows ten past ten. I place a hand above my eyes, shielding them, as I notice clouds scudding from the west to east, defying forecast. I should have gotten shades like Diane, who doesn’t appear bothered with the weather. A muted celebration and grasping of arms kick me back and I observe that Toby’s team has gotten their second goal in ten minutes. Toby is the provider, but no one appreciates an assist more than a goal.

A lady behind mutters something intelligible at the same time Diane speaks. “Your dad should be here by now.”

I shift my focus from the field. Luke and I have exchanged no fewer than five texts between our time of arrival, which was an hour back, and now. I slip my Android out and call his line via his last text. I reread the lines of the message as the phone rings: Twenty minutes out. After seven rings, the familiar tone sets in.

“Not picking,” I say. A line rises along the side of her face, the same way veins had popped out that Friday four years back. “He’s fine mum. He’s probably held back by some case.”

“I know. Luke’s never been late.”

After-word: What do you think? Kindly leave suggestions… I promise to read them all…

2 thoughts on “Promise fulfilled

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

