Birthday Blog – Recounting Lessons

My birthdayHurray! Did anyone miss my yesterday’s post? There was no post because of two reasons, one of which was beyond me. The other reason is this: I’m a year older today. Eighteen is the age. And I thought, why not wait till today before putting something on my blog? Sounded cool. Now, what I intended to write was how scared I am to be 18. The responsibility that comes with being an adult is enough to kick me back to under-18. However, I won’t be talking about that. Yeah. What would I post then?
Going by the title, I’m recounting lessons today. Things I’ve learnt (experience of mine and others, books, and other means) over the years, especially the past three years. These lessons are combination of facts and truth (which is the Word). This doesn’t mean they are universal. Not at all. With that in mind, I hope you pick something from the little I know.
1. I’ve learnt that my destiny is to give glory to God’s name. Talent is the special ability with which I’ve been gifted. And purpose, is that which I use the talent for, which gives God glory.
2. Adulthood stands for just one thing: responsibility. (Thanks mum).
3. Ten years later, I’d wish I started today, so the best time is always now.
4. In whatever way I serve God, I should be rest assured that it matters to Him.
5. Beyond being my Savior, Christ is my salvation.
6. No matter how well a cat is trained to be a waiter, all you need is to throw in rats, and it goes back to being a cat. (A Gentle Thunder by Max Lucado).
7. Everything is story. (Credit goes to Ted Dekker).
8. Our biggest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our biggest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. (I think this is universal).
9. Any enterprise is built by wise planning, becomes strong through common sense, and profits wonderfully by keeping abreast of the facts. (Proverbs 24:3-4 TLB)
10. There’s no one born a dummy. All we need is to task our brain. (Thank you Ben Carson). I’ve experienced this too – from having an E- to a B+ in a particular subject in the space of a year.
11. Hardwork brings profit. (If you don’t agree, hmmm)
12. Worship must be rendered in spirit and in truth. And beyond that, worship is a lifestyle, not a mood. (Thanks EOF)
13. Writing is best learned by reading a lot and writing a lot, and the most important lessons of all are the ones I teach myself. (Stephen King says this, and it is true).
14. Two things that are so vital in fulfilling ministry: capacity and character (Thank you Bishop Oyedepo).
15. In Christ, there is no Jew or Greek, male or female, Scythian or Barbarian. Christ is all and in all. (Colossians 3:11).
16. The best way to win is to win with people. To handle jealousy, celebrate others. (I’ve seen this through blogs I follow, and the unity and oneness among writers).
17. Everyone needs a friend. Everyone. (Hi EOF).
18. There should be no limit to my dream. If my dream is achievable by my efforts, it is not a dream. (Thank you mum).
19. I am never too young to flourish. (From The Word For Today).
20. In the making of stars, times and seasons are very vital.
21. The volume of the light of God’s Word I’m exposed to will determine the degree of change I experience. (Open Heavens Devotional).
22. It is better to ask a dumb question than to make a dumb mistake. (Learnt this from a blog).

After-word: I hope the list isn’t too much. Thank you for stopping by. You could go a step further by telling friends about this blog. Don’t forget to wish me a happy birthday.

In His service,
Michael Emmanuel.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Blog – Recounting Lessons

  1. Hi Michael, it’s Andrew from the Books and Such blog community.

    I love this post; you’ve packed a huge amount of wisdom in here! You’ll go far, and I feel honoured to have made your acquaintance here in the virtual world. You have a tremendous writing career ahead of you; of that, I have no doubt.

    God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

