Overflowing Love

Overflowing love

There would be no post. Not today. Maybe not ever.

That was my decision when my brother asked if I’d be posting on my blog today. “No,” I said. And rightly so. I was fed up. Average post views were sub-par. Twas like every hour invested in doing this was water being poured into a basket. No effect.

11:40 a.m. Tired. I didn’t know what to do. I wasn’t intent on posting to show how faithful and diligent I could be. It was just a drawing, like the pull of a tornado. Couldn’t resist. Couldn’t fight. Couldn’t overcome. So, I prayed. Asked God for help. That He would help me make sense of all this. Given, the views shouldn’t count, but no one would keep at something without an incentive.

11:53 a.m. The wave of ideas surged from within. There would be no bible verses about Love. Or my thoughts on how to live our daily lives like Jesus did, with Love in mind. A confession it would be.

1400 hours. Here I am. The laptop is on. The words are coming. I’m learning. It essentially isn’t about what we find comfortable. The best in us do not come when we feel like giving it. We don’t find nourishment from the Word if we are self-sufficient. Our deepest, incomprehensible acts of unselfishness results from moments upon moments of brokenness. Remember the night before crucifixion? Jesus prayed, *“Father, if you are willing, please take away this cup of horror from me…”

End result? The Father didn’t. Jesus added, “But I want your will, not mine.” Two thousand years after, the most eccentric and most ascetic of believers could never love as Jesus did. Yet, He prayed that the cup would pass over Him. Definitely didn’t find it funny.

1408 hours. I’ve stringed the words. I can see the shape of yet another post on Love. What I’ve learnt today, which I’d love you to note, is this: We find strength to Love most when we realize that we can’t do it. We rely on the Father’s strength best in our most anguished moment. And that is simply the deepest outflowing of Love.

Love. Sacrifice. Broken. Meek. Love.

I hope this all made sense. It did to me, not the words, but the reason for the words. Thank you for reading. You wouldn’t mind sharing this with a friend, would you?

After-word: I appreciate you all a lot for reading these words of mine, not minding my age. And let me break my earlier promise of no bible verse. I’ve added this in some past Love posts. Here goes: 1 Thessalonians 3:12. Thank you for your tacit support. Keep flowing with Love for God.

One thought on “Overflowing Love

Leave a Reply

